Favorite Quotes From Books I've Read

  • "You should take a pill." Roh laughed. "Something for acute-on-chronic self-righteousness."-Rho (Bleeder)
  • "So you want to see my Junque?" She wrapped the com over her ear and smiled. "I thought I already had."-Char (Space Junque)
  • "You wanna give her candy and caffeine while you're at it?" -Mallory (Some Girls Bite)

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

In Search of Lucy

In Search of Lucy
Lia Fairchild

*****Book was read back in March*****

For fans of Nicholas Sparks, King of read em and weep, this emotional tale will appeal to anyone that has ever experienced love, loss, and friendship.

Thirty-year-old Lucy Lang's in freefall. Unfulfilled at work and abandoned by both her alcoholic mother and the sister she helped to raise, she's become cynical and depressed. Then, just as romance strikes, she finds out her sister needs a kidney transplant and only Lucy can help. Bolstered by new found friends, Lucy sets out on a road trip to save her sister's life and in the process, makes discoveries about the kind of person she truly is.

This romantic drama will pull you into the world of its heroine and inspire you to see the true power of human relationships. ~ Goodreads

I will admit, I did not purchase this book. I actually won it as part of a contest I entered. So, it wasn't like I read the blurb about it and said . . "Hey, that's something I wanna read about." I began reading and instantly began to "click" with the characters. There is someone in the line up of "cast" that everyone can relate too. The story line, is actually one that is not unheard of these days. With all the "broken" homes, I'm sure this story line is played out across America every single day. Lucy, who at a young age has to become the mother figure for a younger sibling . . get's her feelings hurt when the little sister grows up and no longer "needs" her. Keeping her true feelings inside, for so long, Lucy begins to shut down to the world around her. Lucy begins to feel cheated and used, like she is no longer of use to anyone. Her life becomes one of avoiding others and hardly ever stepping outside that of a daily routine. Not wanting to rely on anyone Lucy must step out of her comfort zone, when she discovers her only sister, the one who hurt her so badly, needs her like never before. Accepting the help of those around her, she sets out on a journey of discovery. Lucy will discover there is more to her than meets the eye, there is a wonderful feeling to be had just by opening ones heart and allowing others in. Lucy will . . . find the starting point of finding herself along the way.

I enjoyed this book very much, and would recommend it!

Amazon/Barnes and Noble/Smashwords

No comments:

Post a Comment